Inventors\' work includes Valium, the electric guitar, genetic fingerprinting, frozen foods -

Washington - Celebrating its commitment to honor invention and innovation, the National Inventors Hall of Fame has recognized the next group of world-class inventors who will be inducted into its ranks. This year\'s class includes a diverse sampling, such as Les Paul, the famed musician already inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame; Dean Kamen, the well-known Segway inventor; Leo Sternbach, the chemist who discovered Valium; and Clarence Birdseye, who gave us the ease and convenience of frozen foods.

The 2005 group includes six living inventors who represent accomplishments that have bettered our quality of life and allowed us greater convenience and safety. From aviation safety to better antibiotics, and from identifying DNA to creating a more efficient office, the work of these inventors has had an impact on all of our lives.

The 2005 class of inductees:


? C. Donald Bateman: Ground Proximity Warning System-GPWS
? Robert Gundlach: Modern photocopier
? Alec Jeffreys: Genetic fingerprinting
? Dean Kamen: AutoSyringe?
? Les Paul: Solid-body electric guitar
? Leo Sternbach: Valium?


? Matthias Baldwin: Steam locomotive
? Clarence Birdseye: Frozen foods
? Leopold Godowsky, Leopold Mannes: Kodachrome? color film
? Garrett Morgan: Gas mask, traffic signal
? Glenn Seaborg: Plutonium isolation
? Jacob Rabinow: Optical character recognition
? Selman Waksman: Streptomycin

Every year, the National Inventors Hall of Fame honors through induction the individuals whose work has changed society and improved the way we live. Their vision, hard work, and creative drive have led to powerful new tools that shape the future while celebrating invention. The 2005 class will be inducted this year on May 14th at the annual induction ceremony held in Akron, Ohio.

\"This impressive group of inventors worked hard to give us the benefit of their inventions,\" said Rick Nydegger, President of the National Inventors Hall of Fame Foundation. \"We look forward to honoring such a distinguished group, and we are glad they are receiving this much deserved recognition.\"

This year\'s inductees are an accomplished group:

Matthias Baldwin ( 1795-1886) Steam Locomotive
Baldwin built the historic Old Ironsides, which could go as fast as 28 miles per hour and pull up to 30 tons. His company, the Baldwin Locomotive Works, helped to establish America\'s early railroad system.

C. Donald Bateman (1932- ) Ground Proximity Warning System-GPWS
Aviation safety devices GPWS and Enhanced GPWS have saved countless lives by warning pilots of impending crashes. EGPWS is currently being implemented in aircraft by FAA mandate. Bateman is with Honeywell, Inc.

Clarence Birdseye (1886-1956) Frozen Foods
Birdseye\'s innovations allowed high-quality food to be frozen with minimal frost damage. By creating the frozen food industry, he made it possible to conveniently eat fruits and vegetables all year. Today, Birds Eye Foods continues Birdseye\'s legacy.

Leopold Godowsky (1901-1983), Leopold Mannes (1899-1964) Kodachrome? Color Film
Professional musicians and amateur photographers, Godowsky and Mannes created the first practical color film which produced high-quality color images during their time at Eastman Kodak.

Robert Gundlach (1926- ) Modern Photocopier
Photocopiers became practical and efficient because of Gundlach\'s work at Xerox, as he introduced important advances such as the idea of making multiple copies of a document.

Alec Jeffreys (1950- ) Genetic Fingerprinting
Genetic fingerprinting serves law enforcement and research as a powerful tool, using DNA evidence to exonerate defendants, implicate others, and establish family relationships in paternity disputes.

Dean Kamen (1951- ) AutoSyringe?
The portable and automatic AutoSyringe has improved the lives of patients who require round-the-clock injections by administering drugs continuously, allowing them to go on with their lives.

Garrett Morgan (1887-1963) Gas Mask, Traffic Signal
Morgan\'s gas mask was a device that saved lives, aiding firefighters and others exposed to dangerous fumes. His three-way traffic signal provided a standard for governing automotive traffic.

Les Paul (1915- ) Solid-body Electric Guitar
The Gibson Les Paul guitar, considered the modern electric guitar, inspired musicians in many genres. Paul also pioneered innovative techniques that transformed music-recording technology.

Jacob Rabinow (1910-1999) Optical Character Recognition
Rabinow\'s optical scanner recognized printed letters and numbers, automating work previously done by hand. Business, industry, and the U.S. Postal service adopted Rabinow\'s machines.

Glenn Seaborg (1912-1999) Plutonium
The only person to hold patents on chemical elements, Seaborg also discovered the element plutonium. Additionally, he was also the only living person to have an element named after him-seaborgium.

Leo Sternbach (1908- ) Valium?
Sternbach invented Valium? and Librium?, the first safe tranquilizers for widespread use, reducing anxiety and sedating without clouding the mind. Previous drugs were addictive or caused severe side effects.

Selman Waksman (1888-1973) Streptomycin
In addition to inventing the important antibiotic streptomycin, which was the first effective treatment for tuberculosis, Waksman created the term \"antibiotic.\" He won the Nobel Prize for his work.

Inventors may be nominated by anyone for induction into the Hall of Fame, but they must hold a U.S. patent to be considered. The nominee\'s invention must have contributed to the welfare of society and have promoted the progress of science and the useful arts. All nominations are reviewed by the Selection Committee, comprised of representatives from national science and technology organizations.

The not-for-profit National Inventors Hall of Fame is the premier organization in America dedicated to honoring and fostering creativity and invention. Each year a new class of inventors is inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition of their patented inventions that make human, social, and economic progress possible. Founded in 1973 by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Association, the Hall\'s permanent home is Akron, Ohio, where the inventors in the Hall are honored and from where it administers its national programs, including Camp Invention?, Club Invention?, and the Collegiate Inventors Competition?.

Image or language translation URLs, etc.
For more information, including image access, visit for downloads. For further questions, including inventor interview inquiries, contact Rini Paiva.

Note: For more information, including image access, visit the National Inventors Hall of Fame web site at for downloads. For further questions, including inventor interview inquiries, please contact Rini Paiva, National Inventors Hall of Fame, at 330.388.6160 or

Contact: Rini Paiva -
National Inventors Hall of Fame