The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) has added three new medical schools to its membership, following the recent decisions by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) to grant these schools preliminary accreditation. The new schools are:

Texas Tech University'sPaul L. Foster School of Medicine at El Paso (El Paso, Texas) Jose Manuel de la Rosa, M.D., Dean

Florida International University College of Medicine (Miami, Florida) John Rock, M.D., Dean

University of Central Florida College of Medicine (Orlando, Florida) Deborah German, M.D., Dean

In September 2007, San Juan Bautista School of Medicine (Caguas, Puerto Rico) joined the AAMC after receiving LCME accreditation. The medical school's president and dean is Yocasta Brugal-Mena, M.D.

These additions bring the total number of accredited U.S. medical schools to 129.

The Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association representing all 129 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 68 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and 94 academic and scientific societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC represents 109,000 faculty members, 67,000 medical students, and 104,000 resident physicians. Additional information about the AAMC and U.S. medical schools and teaching hospitals is available at

Association of American Medical Colleges